Prizes and Awards

Grants, Prizes and Awards handed out by the Society 

World Antibiotics Awareness Week 2017 

In conjunction with World Antibiotics Awareness Week (WAAW) 2017, SIDS established the WAAW Grant, which aimed to provide support and funding for institutional antibiotics awareness campaigns.

Cash awards of SGD1000 each were awarded to National University Hospital and Singapore General Hospital. 

Please click below for brief reports of each hospital's antibiotics awareness campaigns. 

National University Hospital

Singapore General Hospital

The SIDS Institut Mérieux Young Investigator Award

SIDS and the Institut Mérieux are proud to announce the inaugural SIDS IM Young Investigator Award, aimed at supporting the academic work of a young researcher in the domain of antimicrobial resistance in Singapore. 

Please click here to learn more!

The inaugural award was jointly won by Dr Lim Tze Peng and Dr Lee Wei Lin and was conferred at the SIIDC 2017 Faculty dinner on August 24th 2017.


SIDS offers members a small pilot grant as seed funding for high quality research projects subject to peer review.
For details, please click here

 Conference/training course/workshop sponsorship 

Members who are employed in Singapore, have been an ordinary member for >=12 months or a life member are eligible.
For details, please click here

 Infectious Disease Book Prize, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore

This book prize is given out every year to the Year 5 Medical Student with the best performance in his/her Infectious Disease Clinical posting. The previous recipients are as follows: 

AY 2000/01: Mr Mohamed Zulfikar Rasheed

AY 2001/02: Mr Ng Wei Lik Jared

AY 2002/03: Ms Foo Pei Kee

AY 2003/04: Mr Dennis Chua Yu Kim

AY 2004/05: Miss Ngiam Xin Ying

AY 2005/06: Mr Chew Kwei Yong

AY 2006/07: Mr Lum Hon Wai, Lionel

AY 2007/08: Mr Yeow Yu Yi

AY 2008/09: Mr Lin Junhao, Ray

AY 2009/10: Mr Ho Quan Yao

AY 2010/11: Ms Teh Yii Ean

AY 2011/12: Mr Daniel Chan Wei Keong

AY 2012/13: Ms Stephanie Saw Pei Li

AY 2013/14: Mr Sean Ong Wei Xiang

AY 2014/15: Mr Samuel Lim Jun Ming

AY 2015/2016: Mr Kennedy Ng Yao Yi

AY 2016/2017: Mr Tan Hwee Yong

AY 2017/2018: Ms Kee Xiang Lee Jamie

 The Monteiro Lecture 

The Monteiro Lecture was established in 2011 in collaboration with the Chapter of Infectious Diseases Physicians, College of Physicians, Academy of Medicine, Singapore, to commemorate Professor ES Monteiro, who was a pioneer in infectious diseases and his son, Dr Edmund Monteiro, who worked at the Middleton Hospital which became the current Communicable Disease Centre, from 1965 to 1993.

 The Monteiro lectureship is awarded to distinguished persons with significant work in Singapore in the field of Infectious Diseases or related fields of Microbiology, Epidemiology and Public Health.

 The bi-ennial Monteiro lectureship has been awarded to the following individuals:

2012: Dr David Allen

2014: A/Professor Hsu Li Yang

2016: Professor Goh Kee Tai

2018: A/Prof Koh Tse Hsien