Founding Members

Founding Members of the
Singapore Infectious Diseases Society

The founding members of the Society comprised: Professors Feng Pao Hsii and Chng Hiok Hee, and Dr Howe Hwee Siew (rheumatologists), Professor Chew Suok Kai (public health physician), Professor T Thirumoorthy (dermatologist), Drs Jimmy Sng, Ling Ai Ee, Tan Ai Ling, Ling Moi Lin, S Doraisingham, M Nadarajah and Chan Kwai Peng, and Professor Raymond Lin (microbiologists), Drs David Allen, Wong Sin Yew and Lam Mun San, Professor Leo Yee Sin (infectious diseases physicians), Professor Chee Yam Cheng and Dr Edmund Monteiro. These pioneers saw the importance of infectious diseases as a specialty and incubated its development.